I don’t agree with people being able to have guns on campus. I think that it is a crazy idea that if more people had guns they could stop a crazed gunperson. Really, did anyone think about the end results of that idea? If someone comes in attempting to kill classmates, teachers, themselves, whom ever, and a few other people have guns, it doesn’t really matter when it comes down to it. I think it would just be a shoot out. This policy would also make it easier for people to carry illegal guns. I also guess I never understood the concealed part of it either. I think I would rather see a gun in plain site if someone is carrying it legally. That would be a sign to me that they did possess the gun legally. I would also think that it would make the police feel a little more comfortable too. But that’s just my opinion.
I do like the idea of having to pass a training course along with the background check. I think that people that get gun permits should have to take training annually and have to have firing range training also. Guns are killers. It is important for all of us to be aware of that and if we possess them to treat them as killers and secure them properly. I don’t oppose people having guns at all but it is easier now to get guns and it is important to know about the gun you have, to be trained to use it, to know rules and laws about guns. I have seen so many stories about someone breaking into a home of a gun owner and the home owner shoots the thief and then they bring a law suit for getting shot when they are walking out the door with stolen property. What is all that? But the home owner will still be charged with a crime if they don’t know the laws about break ins and gun ownership.
Personal protection is important of course but I think that if the campuses work further on security and people are just more cautious it would be better than everyone toting guns around. I would never want to go to school if I knew someone could get pissed off and just shoot the class up with a gun the got legally. I would feel more comfortable knowing that guns are not allowed on campus. I know there will always be random issue that come up but safety is not bringing more guns in.
The Texas article goes with our discussion about choice and rights, I just feel like it is not a good idea to allow guns on campus. The different issues about safety of women and making sure everyone is able to get equal education are affected if the decision to make guns legal on campus.